Book Review: The Girl In The Ice by Robert Bryndza

girl-in-ice-1-4Title: The Girl In The Ice

Author: Robert Bryndza

Genre: Crime / Thriller / Mystery

Description: Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice…She is not the only one. When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation. […]

                                            Rating: ★

Disclaimer: Review contains spoilers

I would like to thank NetGally, Bookouture, and author Robert Bryndza for my Arc of THE GIRL IN THE ICE in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

First off I want to talk about how beautifully this novel is written. The details that went into every moment had me feeling as if I was actually there witnessing it in person. I felt as if I was an extra police officer standing by DCI Foster trying to help the solve the case.

What got me into this novel before I even owned it was the book cover. It’s so beautiful. The colours used just gripped me straight away. And then I read the blurb which had me itching for more.

I’m a sucker for crime/thriller novels and this one just blew me away. The novel starts of in such a dramatic and fantastic way that from the minute I started reading I couldn’t put it down. This novel I would totally recommend if you wanted to start getting into this style of genre because the way that it is laid out is exactly how I believe a crime/thriller should be.

The book starts immediately with the night of Andrea Douglas-Brown’s murder and how it happened. I’m so very happy that this novel didn’t start out with the boy discovering Andrea’s body. The Prologue gives us into what Andrea Douglas-Brown may have been like and what she might have done to deserve such a terrible death.

DCI Erika Foster is such a well written character and I couldn’t stop myself falling in love with her. Throughout the novel she comes face-to-face with a lot of problems and yet she doesn’t let that stop her even when the world is against her. She demands justice for the murders and thankfully she gets it. Sadly during that process she barely escapes the murderers hands. I love the way that she just doesn’t take any of her colleagues shit. She does what is best for the victims and tries to find them justice. I love the fact that this novel focuses on how even though the victims were of different class systems that they should all be treated equally as they all died in such a tragic and terrible way.

This novel was written in such a unique way that it made me feel apart of the police force and that this is how I pictured it would be like to be apart of it. I felt angry, frustrated, excited, nervous and many more other emotions as the case grew and grew. I’m glad Erika took the risks that she did in this novel because it showed that even after such tragedy in her own personal life that you can come back and prove your worth. Which she did brilliantly.

Now for the killer. I didn’t expected the killer to be who it was. At first I believed it was who they told us it was going to be: George/Igor but when Erika brought Igor, Simon, Linda, and Giles into the police station for questioning everything begun to make sense and everything became connected. And in such a unique way. I would like to know the true reasoning behind why David wanted to kill his own sister (and the other girls) and why he was so willing to allow his father to cover it up the murders and blame it on his other sister. David is such a sick, twisted yet well written character that the reveal of him being the murderer I didn’t see coming. He comes off as the innocent typical young adult trying to get on with his life. But then the cracks begin to show.

The last few chapters had me gripped until the very end, I never read a novel that got even more action packed with only a few chapters left. Yet I felt totally satisfied with the ending. The Epilogue brought a tear to my eye because Erika finally decided to go back to her old home and visit her husband’s grave and I’m so happy that she finally got to do it especially because of what she’s been through.

I would definitely recommend this book and I cannot wait for the next one!

 

Leave a Reply

