Book Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Title25639296: The Darkest Corners

Author: Kara Thomas

Genre: Young Adult / Mystery / Thriller

Description: There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them. []

                                                                            Rating: ★☆ [4.5]

Disclaimer: Review contains spoilers

I would like to thank NetGally, Random House Children’s, and author Kara Thomas for my Arc of THE DARKEST CORNERS in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

I have been dying to read this book for a while since a friend recommended it to me and I’m so happy and glad that I’ve finally got to read it because it did not disappoint me whatsoever.

I loved the main character Tessa deeply because I found that I could relate to her on some personal level when it comes to her social anxiety, and also the loss of a close friendship because of moving away or growing up.

As the book when on I’m glad that my opinion on Callie changed because at first I didn’t like her at all because of the way she was treating Tessa but then I begun to understand her and because of that I fell in love with her.

Tessa and Callie had experienced something that most 8 year olds never would. Having to be a witness in a court investigation. But what happens when the witness statements you gave at 8 years old are not as correct as you thought they were? And this is what The Darkest Corners explores. I expected this novel to only focus on who the true Monster was but there was so many more amazing side stories that had me gripped until the very last page.

I honestly did not see the truth behind Tessa’s family coming. The last few chapters bombarded me with so much information (in a good way) that I didn’t know how it was going to end. Tessa’s “mother”is such a sick and twisted yet well written character that the minute we are first introduced to her there’s something not right. Who would just abandon their daughter? I’m still shocked over the lengths that Tessa’s mother went through just so she could have a child. And the fact that she was still doing it and even committed murder to keep her secret from ever getting out is just, wow.

I really hope that Callie doesn’t blame Tessa for the fact that her “mother” killed Callie’s cousin, because I know deep down that Tessa will be beating herself up for it. At least both of the Monsters are finally paying for what they have done and Tessa, Callie & Joslin can finally have a life free of their pain and torment of what happened previously in their lives.

I would really recommend this novel to anyone who wants to get into mystery/thriller novels. If you’re a sucker for Young Adult novels like I am then I would definitely recommend you give this novel a try!

Leave a Reply

