Book Review: Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

lady-midnight-cover-galleycatTitle : Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy

Description: It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses. []

                     Rating: ★

Disclaimer: Review contains spoilers

No one could have prepared me for the plot twists in this novel.

Lady Midnight lived and exceeded my expectations. I’ve been anticipating this novel since the moment it was announced and we were first introduced to Emma and the Blackthorns back in City of Heavenly Fire. I’m so happy that I’ve finally got to read it.

Lady Midnight follows the story of Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn siblings and an investigation in the murders that may or may not be linked to the murders of Emma’s own parents. I could not have predicted who the killer was. To be honest I thought that it would be someone unknown but, maybe I shouldn’t have been so gullible, once again the enemy was right under our noses.

What I didn’t expect with the murders was how the Faeries were going to get involved in wanting the killer to be named, and by giving Mark Blackthorn over to the Blackthorns giving him his freedom. I had expected not to see either of the Blackthorn twins in Lady Midnight  but I am so glad we got to at least see and read about one of them. Mark Blackthorn is such a complex character that I couldn’t help falling for him. He’s been through hell and back and some of the lines that he says were just pure gold.

Julian Blackthorn. My precious Julian I just want to protect him at all costs. He needs to be protected. Julian alongside Emma are definitely my favourite Lady Midnight characters so far. I love their relationship and how they’re there for everyone including Cristina, each other, and even Mark. Let’s just say after the end of that novel I’m in Jemma/Blackstairs hell because of the damn Parabatai curse. Why Cassie? WHY?! Why did you have to make me ship them so hard? I am never going to be able to live through this.

Malcolm Fade. In the beginning there were elements of Malcolm that reminded me of Magnus, they have the same type of humour in a way. But I would have never had thought that he was the one butchering all of these innocent people just because he wanted to resurrect the woman he loved. Not caring who he hurt in the process. I’m glad that Malcolm didn’t get Diana involved I don’t know what I’d do if we’d had another Hodge Starkweather in the mist. I’m glad Diana stayed loyal until the end. And Malcolm met his miserable end at least he can now be with the woman he loves….or so we thought.

I loved that we saw so many of the The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices characters. I’m a bit biased but seeing Jem Carstairs and Tessa Gray’s names in other books just makes my day because they are my two favourite characters of all time. I love that we even got to see a bit of Magnus and Alec’s (#Team Malec) children Max and Rafael (forever crying at the names). And the fact Jem and Tessa (#Team Jessa) were on the search for the Lost Herondale who was right there under my nose from the get go. I should have see that one coming too and I didn’t. AND SIMON AND ISABELLE (#Team Sizzy) ARE ENGAGED.

I don’t think I’m going to survive the next two The Dark Artifices novels not with Emma having to break Julian’s heart to ensure that the Parabatai curse doesn’t happen. And the fact that she’s using Mark to do so. To hell I go for being a Jemma shipper.

AND THAT ENDING THOUGH. I wonder how Malcolm will feel knowing that he was successful in resurrecting Annabel even though he’s dead. I can definitely sense that this is not going to end well.

Lord of Shadows is just too long away.

 

Leave a Reply

