Book Review: The Sign of One by Eugene Lambert

28669945Title: The Sign of One

Author: Eugene Lambert

Genre: Young Adult / Dystopian / Sci-Fi

Description: ONE FOR SORROW, TWO MEANS DEATH. In the Barrenlands of Wrath, no one dies of old age. Kyle is used to its harsh laws, but the cold-blooded separation of identical twins and execution of the ‘evil twists’ at the Annual Peace Fair shocks him. []

                                Rating: ★

Disclaimer: Review contains spoilers

I would like to thank NetGally, Egmont Publishing, and author Eugene Lambert for my Arc of THE SIGN OF ONE in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

The cover is what drew me to this book it was so simple yet effective that I found myself drawn to why the little finger seemed to be cut off and was half another colour. As soon as I read the description I was sold.

I can honestly say that I have never read anything like this, I’ve read a lot of dystopian novels as it’s one of my favourite genres but this one is so unique and I found myself wanting to keep reading more. It’s been a while since I read a novel with a male protagonist so it was such a nice change.

The Sign of One follows a young man named Kyle who lives in the world where being a twin is both a curse or a blessing depending on which twin you are and how you see the world. In this world one twin is a Pureblood/Indent and the other is a Twist/Nublood. A Nublood (Twist is rather like a slur) is someone who basically is a vampire without the fangs and undead part. They have faster healing, strength, abilities etc and it’s because of this that they are seen as the Evil of the world. Mainly because of the man called The Savior. Now what The Savior decided to do was just totally disgusting and I am still quite shocked to get rid of these “Twists” they would have an annual hanging where they would call up twins cut them and the ones that healed the fastest was branded the Twist. The Twist would then have their little finger cut off before being hanged (or so we thought more on that later). And the Sign of One was created. To prove that you were a Pureblood you would raise your little finger because someone who is a “Twist” would no longer have their little finger, and would wound up dead. Well that was until Kyle came along.

What I really loved about this novel is the main female lead, who kickass and is a badass, is disabled. Yet she doesn’t let that stop her. Sky, who is an Indent/twin, comes to the rescue when it’s discovered that Kyle turns out to be a Twist, when he’s almost left for dead. It’s then that Kyle realises that he and Sky have a lot in common, a lost twin and a cause that they want to fight for. That is stopping The Savior and saving the Nubloods that, turns out, weren’t being hung when they thought they were.

I love the fact that both Kyle and Sky were put in situations where they had to become stronger than they actually were and put themselves in difficult situations. I’m glad that in the end Kyle decided to side with the Gemini and help the rest of the Nubloods even after he went to The Answerman. (Also that’s another thing I loved, the names that were created for certain characters).

As I got nearer to the end I found that I couldn’t put this novel down I wanted to know if Kyle was going to be safe, if he was going to be reunited with everyone. I had to know if The Savior was going to get away with the horrid things he’d done for what he believed was the safety of the world.

I’m assuming that there is going to be a next one because I really really really want Sky and Kyle to find Tarn (Sky’s twin sister) plus it will be so great to read their adventures together and see them as a badass duo team.

Leave a Reply

