Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20698530Title: P.S. I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)

Author: Jenny Han

Genre: Young Adult / Contemporary / Romance

Description: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?
 []

                                                  Rating: ★☆ 

Disclaimer: Review contains spoilers

I’m going to be very honest this book at first took me ages to read. I think I put it on hold for about a month because I just couldn’t get into it. Which really saddened me because I loved the first one so dearly. Today I decided to buck my ideas up and actually finish this book and I’m so glad that I did because it definitely got better near the end.

I think what I loved so much about the first one was that it explored one of my favourite tropes in fiction, which is rarely seen in books that I’ve seen and that is fake dating. But in this one the dating is no longer fake. I ship Covinsky (Peter x Lara Jean) with every fiber of my being I just want them to be together so badly yet in this book there were so many things that kept tearing them apart. Genevive being the number one thing. Honestly I don’t know how I feel about Gen. She definitely has the ability to hold a petty grudge but to be honest if I was in her shoes I’d probably do the same thing (I can hold a grudge for centuries I’m not kidding).

I love Jenny Han’s writing it’s so unique and easy to read, it flows so easily and I just love it. The one thing that did bug me was the fact that Lara Jean constantly calls her dad “daddy”. I also feel a little betrayed that the way Jenny Han beautifully writes Lara Jean’s love for Peter and then her I guess past love for John and how it may have slightly come back to her during her current friendship with him. I did begin to ship it, their moments together were so beautifully written but my heart remains with Covinsky.

As the book drew to a close my heart began aching for Lara Jean and Kavinsky to kiss and make up. I just love the way Kavinsky just admitted his true feelings for her to Lara Jean so that she knew that he no longer wanted Gen in a romantic way he wanted Lara Jean and only her. He loved her. And I thought it was such a beautiful way to end this book. I really do hope that in the next one Covinsky don’t have as much troubles as they do in this one. I hope that Gen and Lara Jean can rebuild their friendship or at least be civil with one another.

Leave a Reply

